Alpha Lambda Delta

National Honor Society for First-Year Students www.nationalald.org



MEDIA RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: January 12, 2018

ALPHA LAMBDA DELTA'S PRESIDENT-ELECT ANNOUNCED

FAIRPORT, New York – The National Council of Alpha Lambda Delta is pleased to announce that Dr. Sharon Emerson-Stonnell has been named President-Elect. Dr. Emerson-Stonnell will serve as President-Elect until June 2018, where she will become National President at the conclusion of the National Council meeting. She was elected to succeed Dr. Susan Melson Huffman, who is completing her third term in office.

Dr. Emerson-Stonnell is a professor of mathematics at Longwood University, where she has been the chapter advisor since January 1998. She served the National Council as a Professional Member-at-Large from 2008-11 and 2014-16. In 2016, she served for one year as Interim Vice President for Finance and Long Range Planning, officially being elected and taking office in June 2017. She will continue her role as Vice President for Finance and Long Range Planning through this summer's National Council meeting.

Dr. Emerson-Stonnell will be Alpha Lambda Delta's 18th president. Former National Presidents are: Maria Leonard, University of Illinois (1924-45); Gladys Bell, University of Denver (1945-50); Lide Spragins, Southern Methodist University (1950-54); Pearl Weston, Pennsylvania State University (1954-58); Marjorie Johnston, University of Nebraska (1958-62); Lucile Scheuer, DePauw University (1962-66); May Brunson, University of Miami (1966-70); Katharine Cater, Auburn University (1970-76); Margaret Berry, University of Texas at Austin (1976-79); Helen Clarke, University of Maryland (1979-82); Louise McBee, University of Georgia (1982-85); Jo Anne J. Trow, Oregon State University (1985-88); Betty Jo Hudson, Ohio State University (1988-91); Dorothy Anderson, Susquehanna University (1991-97); Patricia Graham, University of Texas at San Antonio (1997-2003); and James Stemler, University of Portland (2003-09). Current President Susan Melson Huffman, from Purdue University, has been president since 2009.

Alpha Lambda Delta

Alpha Lambda Delta is a national honor society that recognizes students in their first year at a college/university for academic success. Founded in 1924, Alpha Lambda Delta has over a million lifetime members and is present on over 275 campuses nationwide Alpha Lambda Delta's mission is to "encourage superior academic achievement, to promote intelligent living and a continued high standard of learning, and to assist students in recognizing and developing meaningful goals for their unique roles in society."

For more information, contact Trish Maxwell at trish@nationalald.org or 585.364.0840.