National Council

The National Council of Alpha Lambda Delta is the group responsible for making the policy decisions for the national organization.  The Council is made up of three administrative members, four professional members-at-large, three student members-at-large, and the Editor/Historian.

Student Member-at-Large position available!

The National Council is now accepting applications for a Student Member-at-Large position!  During this three year position, you will participate in National Council meetings, attend Alpha Lambda Delta events and conferences, serve on committees, and set policy for Alpha Lambda Delta chapters across the country.

If you are interested, please complete the Student Member-at-Large application and submit three letters of reference no later than December 15, 2015.  If you have questions, please contact Executive Director Eileen Merberg at 1.800.9.ALPHA.1 or

Below, meet the members of the Alpha Lambda Delta National Council.  

Administrative Members

Dr. Susan Huffman
Purdue University

Dr. Herman "Butch" Hill
Ohio University
VP for Finance and Long-Range Planning

Lisa Ruch
VP for Chapter Relations and Expansion











Members at Large

Sharon Emerson-Stonnell
Longwood University

David Tindall
Oakland University

Professional Member-at-Large
To Be Announced

Professional Member-at-Large
To Be Announced


William Covington
University of Colorado - Colorado Springs

Natasha Hongsermeier
Morningside College


Editor and Historian

Dr. Mike Nichols
Transylvania University