The Order of the Torch

The Order of the Torch is the annual award for the most outstanding chapters of Alpha Lambda Delta in the nation.  Each year, up to five chapters may be awarded the Order of the Torch.  Chapters submit a scrapbook, describing their activities during the past year.  The scrapbooks are then judged by a committee of National Council members, and the winning chapters are presented with an award banner at a special ceremony!  For details on how to apply, click here.

Congratulations to the 2014 Order of the Torch Chapters!

At their June 2014 meeting, the National Council of Alpha Lambda Delta awarded the Order of the Torch to the following six chapters - click on a winning chapter's name to see their award-winning application scrapbook.  

See a list of past winners of the Order of the Torch!

Maintaining the Flame

Chapters who are awarded the Order of the Torch are ineligible to apply for the award for the next four years.  To reward chapters that have continued to excel in programming, activities, and service, the National Council awards the Maintaining the Flame award to chapters who are ineligible for the Torch.  Winners receive a patch to affix to their Order of the Torch banner.  Applications are identical to Order of the Torch applications, but don't require the letter of support from a campus official.

The 2013 "Maintaining the Flame" Winners are:


  • Dickinson College
  • Univ. of Texas – Austin
  • Purdue Univ.
  • California Univ. of Pennsylvania
  • Bowling Green State Univ.
  • UCLA
  • Univ. of Connecticut
  • Morningside College
  • St. Vincent College
  • Western Michigan Univ.
  • Univ. of Maryland